My One and Only Election Post

I have no qualms in stating I did not vote for Obama in 2008. I did not vote for him again in 2012. My personal values and beliefs just don’t match up with his. As the election between Romney and Obama was so close this year, I had a small sliver of hope that the President would not win re-election.

In light of last night’s election results, I joked with my husband that instead of moving from California to Colorado, which has become a swing state that likes to get high on marijuana apparently, we should have moved to Montana. Montana still boasts the mountains and open land we love but it also is a solid red state.

But as I was driving to work this morning, preparing my spirit for the day by listening to my Praise and Worship Pandora station, I reflected on that comment. Beyond the fact that God called us to move to Colorado (or return, as is the case for my husband) and not to Montana, there are a lot of misguided people in this state. People that are lost and need the Lord. If all the Christians moved away, who would be left to be an example of Christ’s love?

So, even though the man I voted for did not win the election, I can have peace knowing that Jesus is still King and I will continue to pray for this state, for this nation, for the President. I will continue in my endeavour to know Christ more deeply, to live more like He did and to share His love with those around me.

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

This entry was posted in Soapbox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My One and Only Election Post

  1. I blog often and I genuinely thank you for your content. Your article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

Leave a Reply

