NaNoWriMo

For the past four or five years I have participated in NaNoWriMo. For the past four or five years I have failed to complete the challenge. If you’re not familiar with the concept of National Novel Writing Month, the goal is to write a 50,000+ word novel during the month of November. Sure I have several uncompleted books that total well over 50,000 words, but I can’t use past writing as part of the contest.

This year I started a new book that I based off a dream I had recently. I was on track, ahead of schedule even, until I got food poisoning. That put me out of commission for two days. The word count missed put me way behind where I should be. I still worked on the book as I could, in-between working and raising my son. But, alas, winning NaNoWriMo was not in the cards for me again this year. I finished the month with with 31,142 words under my belt. Not exactly 50,000 but also way better than I had accomplished in previous years.

Maybe next year will be my golden opportunity. I still plan to continue work on this new book, and progress on my other novels, despite the event having completed. Did you participate in NaNoWriMo this year? How far did you get, or did you win?

This entry was posted in Fiction, Muse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

