30 Days of Gratitude – Day 1

Today at church, in a sermon on gratitude, our pastor challenged us to make a list for the next 30 days, of 10 things each day you’re thankful for. None of items can be repeated & at least one item has to be for your spouse. The items may also include inanimate objects.

The goal is that acknowledging gratitude will:
• reduce selfishness (James 1:17)
• reduce sexual immorality (Ephesians 5:3)
• reduce anxiety (Philippians 4:6-7)
• diminish insecurity & identity confusion (Psalm 139:1-6)

Overall, we will become happier people more focused on the blessings we do have, than what we do not have.

I’m going to attempt to blog my list daily. Hopefully I can stick with it.  Since I cannot repeat items, a lot of the obvious will be included in today’s post. Also note, that these items will always be posted in random order – as they pop into my head.

  1. My husband, who loves me unconditionally
  2. My wonderful son
  3. A cozy home
  4. My job
  5. That my husband’s company is profitable
  6. Advil – because I currently have a migraine
  7. That my husband has the know how and ability to change the oil on my car
  8. The ability to buy splurge items while at the grocery store.
  9. The fact I am able to go to church and worship freely.
  10. The wonderful family time I have had over the past four work-free days.

What items would you put on your list?

 

This entry was posted in Life, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

