Naming the Band

Yesterday at work I created a band image for the upcoming Spring Performance.  I placed heads of students on musician’s bodies.  Of course I was listening to Pandora at the time, as I do 8-hours of any given work day.  That, along with a conversation I had with my husband recently, made me think about how a lot of the groups that play on my Rock/Alt station have bizarre band names.  Here are a few examples:

Explosions In The Sky
The Bird And The Bee
Silversun Pickups
The Decemberists
Stars Of Track And Field

In high school I always said if I started a band we were going to be called “That One Band” with out his single “That One Song” off our album “You Know Which One”.  It still amuses me, like how the titles of every Friends episode starts with “The One…”

Makes me wonder how bands come up with these obscure off-the wall names.  What would you name a band if you started one?

This entry was posted in Muse. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Naming the Band

  1. Erin says:

    Hmmmm… a band name… not sure what I’d pick. Something really fun and cool and hip that I can’t think of right now.

Leave a Reply

