Farethewell Summer

Dear Summer,

We have had several weeks of fun together enjoying the sun, thunderstorms and warm temperatures.  Sometimes you made the weather very hot, but that’s okay, I didn’t mind too much.  However, it’s time for you to move on.  I understand.  I will miss you when it’s -10°F outside and snow is falling.  I will miss you when I wake up in the morning shivering because it’s cold, but not yet cold enough to turn on the furnace.  I will miss walking outside at 10pm wearing shorts and a t-shirt and not being cold.  I will miss wearing flip-flops and not having to worry about my toes getting cold.  I will miss sitting on my back porch, watching the sun set behind the mountains and listening to frogs croak in the creek.  I will miss baseball – more specifically The Boys in Blue, and must abide by watching the Broncos play instead.  You can bet that I will be anxiously awaiting your arrival by April of next year.  It seems so far away, but I know time will make the seasons pass quickly.  Plus, although you’re my favorite, autumn and winter are a close second and third.  Yet, despite all the things I enjoy and love about you, I feel I must supply this list of items I won’t miss while you are visiting other parts of the world:

  • mosquitoes
  • burning my hands on my seat belt and steering wheel
  • my office feeling like an igloo
  • tornadoes
  • 90°F + weather without a drop of rain or a cloud in the sky for weeks on end, a little variety is a good thing
  • cotton fluff all over my yard
  • weeds

That said, I anticipate the impending arrival of your brother autumn, the changing of the leaves (but not the mess they leave on my lawn), pumpkins and cooler weather.

Sincerely,

Sucker for the Sun

~I am responsible for what I say but not for what you understand.~

This entry was posted in Muse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

