Connected

I commute to/from work, which leaves me with lots of time to thing, sing along with the radio and talk on the phone.  Don’t worry, I use a Bluetooth and can multi-task.  That being said, one day I got to thinking (probably while singing) about how much cell phones have evolved since I got my first one nearly 10 years ago.

I am a bit of a cell phone junky and regularly upgrade every 1-2 years.  My old phones usually get passed down to my sister or dad, or occasionally, my husband.  But, let’s reminisce and enjoy this little bit of cell phone history.

I don’t want to look for can’t find a picture of the car phone my dad had c. 1995.  I recall it was black and larger than most corded tabletop phones people still have in their homes.  It was provided by my dad’s employer and cost 3 arms and 2 legs for each minute used.  My dad even had a nifty cell phone antennae on the back of the car.  It was truly a special treat to be able to use that phone!

From roughly 1999-2001 I had a pager.  Man was I good at typing in pager code! 0411 4011 8340 94938 0003 700?

In 2001 I formed a non-profit organization (yes, I’m a bit of an overachiever).  It became burdensome to have someone page me and then have to hunt down a pay phone.  You remember pay phones right?  Little blue boxes that ate quarters?  So I purchased a pre-paid phone.  My phone of choice looked very similar to this Nokia 5190 (although I don’t remember the exact model):

I think I was able to go about a month before I needed to add money to the phone…until I discovered texting!  Sheesh, what was it then, 10-cents to receive and 30-cents to send?  Not very cost-effective.

Soon after, people I knew started to get flip phones that had a color other than green-ish.  Oooh!  I remember a Verizon commercial that featured a fancy color Motorola phone that had a baseball game.  I was in love, yet too cheap poor (college student) to afford such a luxury.  Another student in one of my psych classes had this Samsung.  I liked it and upgraded, this time, with a monthly contract!

It was such a pretty blue on the inside, supported animated backgrounds (factory installed) and I could assign the outside caller-id LCD to light up with a different color based on who was calling me.

By the time I was tiring of that phone, color screens were everywhere and I needed one.  Yes need.  I finally bit the bullet and have never looked back.  In my short-lived theme of trying out a new brand I went with the little known LG and purchased the VX 8100:

What really made this phone special was the ability to purchase games to play!  I’m sure I had solitaire, tetris and bejeweled as staples.  Plus, it had a camera!!!  How did I ever exist without having a camera on my phone!  This is when I convinced my sister she needed a camera phone too!

Shortly after I purchased this phone, QWERTY keyboards were added to make texting quicker and more efficient.  An avid typist, that was my next need.  I stuck with LG again this time around and purchased the En-V 2:

Somehow my husband ended up with the En-V before I had the En-V 2.  I guess he was just up for renewal first, or I’m forgetting a step.  Either way, I loved how I didn’t have to flip open the phone to talk and I could assign picture to contacts.  That way, when I was too lazy to read the exterior COLOR screen, I could glance at the picture.  Not like I even needed too.  It was with this phone that I started assigning ringtones to the people who called me the most.

Then, a friend visited from California and she had the Samsung Alias.  This phone was smaller, still had color, a camera and a QWERTY keyboard but was dual flip

I got this phone for no reason other than the fact I wanted it.  Um, needed it.  Only at the time I wasn’t up for renewal…however, my husband was.  So I conned him into upgrading to this phone, then 3-days later we transferred it to my line and he inherited my En-V 2.

I worked for a company that was very connected to email/Internet.  It benefited me to be connected too, so a couple years or so into the Alias, I opted for a Blackberry and the unlimited data plan that accompanied it.

Now I was happily connected to my personal email, work email, Facebook and Twitter.  Plus I had the Internet to follow Dodgers games and look up whatever else I wanted.  The Pearl version of the Blackberry was QWERTY, but not.  The letters were in QWERTY order, but double tapping was required for every other letter.  This phone really only had one downside – memory.  I think my first laptop (a Win 95 black and white Toshiba) had more space and RAM.  Thankfully, when I was about to chuck the Blackberry across the room for the final time, Verizon released the Droid.

I had been salivating over Droid ads for months.  I was even about to upgrade to a Blackberry Storm (I wanted needed a touch screen something fierce) when I heard about the impending Droid invasion.  The second day it was available for purchase, I upgraded early with the Motorola Droid:

I LOVE this phone!  Full Internet.  A 5-mp camera.  Endless memory via micro-SD cards.  This phone has saved my sanity numerous occasions – from Facebook and Twitter apps, free games, Pandora, email and the Internet.  Since having this phone I have been hospitalized twice and had my hard drive crash twice and had my computer fry a motherboard.  During each of those instances I had my phone in all it’s glory.  So as long as I have my charger handy I can be a happy camper with the Droid.

Going from the Nokia to the Droid and all the new capabilities and changes that have occurred during the past 10 years, I wonder what my next phone will be like.

What does your phone genealogy look like?

This entry was posted in Muse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

